Fugazi – “Furniture” 7″ (2001)

photo (13)

***LISTEN–> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_lL3SAIUmIQ <–LISTEN***

Fugazi is a cool band. They never get boring and are definitely not a generic band. Guy Picciotto and Ian Mackaye both play guitar and sing, so this gives them more color to be added to their sound. They play “Post-Hardcore” which is a genre title that I never really understood, I guess because in my head Hardcore is never ending. They have an awesome documentary called “Instrument” that I saw a screening of back when I went to SUNY Purchase for one semester. Guy Picciotto was there for a Q&A and he seemed like a real cool down-to-earth guy. I wish those dudes would get off of their silly, “indefinite hiatus” and play a couple shows–I would drive a lot of hours to see them.

Watch “Instrument”——–> https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vYPgn_Hamrw

Fugazi is :

Brendan Canty- drums

Joe Lally- bass

Ian Mackaye- guitar/vocals

Guy Piciotto- guitar/vocals

back cover

  back cover

Weird photo from the insert--I have no clue what it's supposed to be/mean, but it's weird and I like it.

Weird photo from the insert–I have no clue what it’s supposed to be/mean, but it’s weird and I like it.

This 7″ starts off with one of my all time favorite Fugazi songs, “Furniture” sung by Ian. When I first got this 7″ I spun this side of the record so many times and never got sick of this song. The first lyric is my favorite, “This is a song with no words”. I guess this song was one of their oldest songs, it just never was recorded. Supposedly they played it at their first show in 1987. The drums in this song following the rhythm of the guitar and bass make it. I played along with this song many times on the drums; it is a blast to play once you nail the beat. The hi-hat intricacies were tricky for me to get right. Side B of the record kicks off with the instrumental track, “Number-5”. A good song with lots of groove and grit with a noisy post-hardcore sound. For some reason I’m seeing this track being perfect for a downhill mountain biking video part. The last song, “Hello Morning” is sung by Guy. More of a Germs esq.  sound than post-hardcore in my opinion. It doesn’t really stand out to me but a decent track. Fugazi is a great band. Buy their records and convince them to tour again.

Leave a comment